Loy Krathong

Dear Co-Workers and Students;

This week I would like to write about my first and amazing Loy Krathong experience.

As you already know, I had been witnessed one Songkran festival before,
but this Loy Krathong festival was also beautiful as much as Songkran festival.

In the first day Saturday evening,
I watched the long, colourful and magnificent parade of Wangchao People.
Everybody was well-dressed, happy, joyful and very smiley in the parade.
It took long time the parade’s arriving near to the river but it was just a great show.

After arriving the area near to the river,
I kept enjoying the entertainment with people around there.
They were dancing, singing songs, enjoying the dance shows on the stage,
drinking, eating and of course putting Loy Krathongs to the water.

I was just lost in this fantastic and amazing atmosphere and believe me I had no complain about that.

I also learned that the kratong was made of banana leaves or
the layers of the trunk of a banana tree or a spider lily plant.
And a kratong contains food, betel nuts, flowers, joss sticks and candle.

The Loy Kratong ritual was a simple one but interesting, too.
People  light the candles, make their wishes and let it float away.

I did that ritual twice. Yes, this ritual was fun to do or watch.
But on the other hand, I knew it has to be a meaning. In Thai festivals or
traditions, everything Thai people do has a meaning too.

Fairly soon, I learned it. People watch intently as the float drifts silently downstream,
hoping that the candle will not go out. Its flame is said to signify longevity,
fulfillment of wishes and release from sins.

Altogether it is considered a romantic night for couples or lovers.
Couples who make a wish together on Loy Kratong are thought to stay together in the future.
(I regret not having a lover beside me while I was floating my Loy Krathong away.)

On the second and third days of the festival,
I went to Tak Province for celebrations. I wasn’t surprised when I saw similar enjoyment and enthusiasm.

In Tak I watched  a lot of “Khom Fai” s  while they were being drifted into the sky.
And there were a lot of fireworks which adorned the dark sky.

Loy Krathong festival meant a lot to me and I can not wait to see the second one again.
I know I have to wait for another long year but it really worths, doesn’t it?

ใส่ความเห็น

